• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

College Hall of Fame to honor ex-Hoosier Scott May

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Wednesday, March 08, 2017 08:05 pm
BLOOMINGTON – It’s about time. After 41 years, Indiana’s Scott May is finally getting his Hall of Fame due.

Specifically, the former Hoosier All-America is set to be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame on Nov. 19 in Kansas City.

May was a key reason why the Hoosiers won the 1976 national championship, and did it while going undefeated. The forward helped IU go 32-0, which is the last time a Division I men’s program ended without a loss.

The Hoosiers had a chance to do the same thing a year earlier, but May broke his wrist late in the season. The result – IU lost to Kentucky in the Elite Eight.

May stayed healthy as a senior, and while it wasn’t always easy, the Hoosiers made history. It was the first of three national titles won by coach Bob Knight.

May played three seasons, earning All-America honors in his last two. He finished with 1,593 career points, and was the national player of the year as a senior. He was the No. 2 pick of the 1976 NBA draft by the Chicago Bulls. He played seven seasons in the NBA.

Other Hoosiers in the Hall of Fame are Knight (inducted in 2006), former coach Branch McCracken (2006), guard Isiah Thomas (2006) and guard Quinn Buckner (2015).

Buckner also was on the 1976 national title team. Thomas led Indiana to the 1981 national championship.

May is one of eight people to be inducted as part of the Class of 2017. The others are Wake Forest's Tim Duncan, Winston-Salem State's Cleo Hill, Purdue's Rick Mount, Creighton's Paul Silas, Gonzaga's John Stockton and Duke's Jay Williams, plus former Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan.

In a press release, Hall of Fame selection panel chairman Reggie Minton said, “We are honored to welcome another esteemed class into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame. Collectively, this group broke barriers, won championships, set records, competed for their country, and left a lasting mark on the coaching profession. Each inductee is uniquely deserving of a permanent place in our game's history."


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus