• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Sunday, September 24, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

TV Diary: 'Dancing With the Stars' gets new format for 17th season

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Monday, September 16, 2013 12:01 am
If it's the middle of September, then it must be time for “Dancing With the Stars,” the 17th season that actors, athletes and singers have competed for the coveted disco ball trophy.The show airs at 8 p.m. today and features a new format of sorts.

Gone is the Tuesday night elimination show that focused more on entertainment than the elimination. Monday's shows will be two hours and will feature competition and the elimination round.

While tonight's show is competition only, the first couple will be eliminated during the Sept. 23 episode, based on combining the judges' scores from that night and public votes from tonight.

The public can vote by phone during and up to one hour after the show's broadcast. Online voting takes place at www.ABC.com and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/dancingwiththestars. Voting starts Monday night and closes at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Tom Bergeron and Season 7 champion Brooke Burke-Charvet return as hosts. Len Goodman, Bruno Tonioli and Carrie Ann Inaba return to critique the amateur dancers and offer advice to better their performances.

This season includes actors Valerie Harper, Brant Daugherty, Christina Milian, Elizabeth Berkley Lauren, Corbin Bleu, Amber Riley and Leah Remini; reality stars Snooki Polizzi and Jack Osbourne, “Science Guy” Bill Nye, comic Bill Engvall and NFL wide receiver Keyshawn Johnson.


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus