• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Friday, September 22, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

Briefs: Fort Wayne Children's Choir offers enrollment placement hearings

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Thursday, July 18, 2013 12:01 am
Fort Wayne Children's Choir will hold open enrollment placement hearings, for ages 8-18, at 5:30 and 6 p.m. Monday at IPFW's Rhinehart Music Center, 2101 Coliseum Blvd. E. Call 481-0481 or email info@fwc choir.org to schedule a placement time.Fort Wayne Children's Choir announced its 2013-14 board of directors includes Jeff Gery, president; Debbie Powers, vice president; Ingrid Laidroo-Martin, secretary; and Jenny Lemon, treasurer. Board members include John Foxworthy, Jeff Fritz, George Guido, Charley Hire, Michele Merritt, Carrie Minnich, Barbara Resch, Justin Shurley and Tony Strickler.Leaders working to create a vibrant downtown cultural district announced a Platform for Action that includes eight initiatives: public market, public art, culinary incubator, creative business incubator, creative storefront development, activity, connectivity and telling our story.Planners invite public feedback via a short survey at www.surveymonkey.com/s/HKRGFYQ. The feedback will be used to finalize the plan by October, a news release said.The Fort Wayne Artists Guild and University of Saint Francis announced winners in the Ventures in Creativity 2013 Art Show, which continues through Aug. 16 in the Weatherhead Gallery at the Rolland Art and Visual Communication Center at Saint Francis, 2701 Spring St.

Best of Show: Joel Fremion, “Parnell Street Bridge.”

Oil and acrylic: First place, Andrea Bojrab, “Gathering Stalks”; second, Al McLuckie, “Crescendo.”

Water Media: First place, Leslie White, “Dusk”; second, Louise Cartwright, “Button and Embroidery Scissors.”

Dry Media: First place, Doug Runyon, “Spring Arrives”; second, Joel Fremion, “Still Life with Marigolds.”

Three Dimensional Art: First place, Helen Buescher, “Young David”; second, Steve Shelby, “Evolutional Marvel.”

•Catherine C. Cheney Award: Suzanne Von Burg, “Shades of Chicago.”

•Cecelia May Horn Award: Brenda Ramseier, “Where Has the Time Gone.”

•Midge Walter Award: Michael Dobbs, “Genesis.”

•Marcia Patterson Award: Nancy Longmate, “Painted Desert.”

•Elizabeth Yorks Award: Doug Runyon, “Take Me Home”

•Dr. and Mrs. Hal McLean Award: Wiletta Blevins, “The Face of Freedom.”


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus