• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Friday, September 22, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

School news

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 12:01 am
•These Huntington University students were inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma honor society for 2013: Melissa Grossman and Josh McIntyre, both of Huntington; Katie Knous of Decatur; and Shane Merryman of Fort Wayne.•These Huntington University students were recognized for their accomplishments as part of Forester Night: Sam Brown, Sarah Stine, Gaynel Nave and Aaron Bullen, all of Huntington; Jamon Hammel of Andrews; Liz Smith of Berne; and Leah Smith of Fort Wayne.

•Indiana University graduate Sarah Marie Williams of Auburn received the 2013 Kate Hevner Mueller Outstanding Senior Award, the 2013 Outstanding Senior Award from the Department of Comparative Literature, and the Senior Award from Collins Living Learning Center.

•The Rev. David Meinzen, M.Div., has been named full-time campus chaplain at the University of Saint Francis. He served USF as part-time interim campus chaplain since fall 2012, and as an adjunct professor of philosophy from 2008-2009.

•IPFW announced the following students have accepted an IPFW Chancellor's Distinguished Scholarship, which provides full tuition and student fees and is renewable for up to four years: Brianna Dailey and Samuel Wickey, Leo Junior-Senior High School; Taylor James, Carroll High School; Amanda Martin, Churubusco High School; Emily Neff, home-schooled; Jacqueline Smith, Homestead High School; Kaylyn Speed, Snider High School; and Brian York, Northrop High School.

The following students have accepted IPFW Chancellor's Scholarships, which provide half tuition and fees and are renewable for up to four years: Zachary Carlstrom, Homestead High School; Tierra Crone, Columbia City High School; Katherine Crowell and Tiffany Temple, Carroll High School; Aaron Olson, Concordia Lutheran High School; Mikah Sunderman and Nicholas Veel, Snider High School; Aaron Thieme, Blackhawk Christian High School.

The following students have accepted IPFW Top Ten Scholarships, which provide $1,000 for the first year of college: Natalie Alter, Wayne High School; Amanda Baker, Northrop High School; Abigayle Christman, Kaylee Hartig, Somer Johnson, Paige Mylet and Miranda Vance, Snider High School.

•The following Huntington University animation students premiered their work from the year at the annual DMA Animation Showcase on May 14: Abi Freeland of Andrews; Ryan Woods of Roanoke; Aaron Bullen of Huntington; and Zach Figgins of Fort Wayne.

•The following students at the University of Findlay, Findlay, Ohio, participated in the university's Symposium for Scholarship and Creativity: Andrea Vogt and Lauren Vogt of Auburn; Samantha Drayer of Warren; Heidi Forbes of Fort Wayne; and Callayn Paul of Wabash.•Bishop Luers' Academic Super Bowl teams (science, English and social studies) placed in the top three at the Indiana Academic Super Bowl State Competition held at Purdue University on May 4. The English and social studies teams were state runners-up and science placed third in Class 2.

•Bishop Luers High School announced its 12 Eagle scouts at the school: Adam Baker, Nicholas Burrell, John Michael Chandler, Jason Draper, Dominic Frecker, Christopher Heiny, Mark Hellinger, Mathieu Helmick, Sean Katen, Sean McManus, Matthew Sroufe and Mason Wigent.

•Senior Nancy McNamara and junior Mark Hellinger have been chosen as Carson Scholars from Bishop Luers High School for their academic and humanitarian achievements.

•The following students were awarded scholarships from the University of Michigan Club of Fort Wayne and will attend the University of Michigan this fall: Emily Mylrea of Carroll High School; and Monica Dollive, Weilin Liao and Katherine Troutman, all of Homestead High School.

•Suntex International, creators of the First in Math online program, announced East Allen County Schools' students have solved more than 22 million math problems through the First in Math online program. To recognize students' achievements, First in Math conducted two awards ceremonies. The first was at Leo Elementary, where the sixth-graders are ranked the No. 1 sixth-grade team in Indiana. The second was at Cedarville Elementary, where the students are ranked the No. 1 school among East Allen County Schools and the No. 2 school in Indiana.

•The Indiana Department of Education has recognized St. Joseph-St. Elizabeth Catholic School as a 2011-2012 Indiana Four Star School. The department recognizes the top 25th percentile of Indiana schools with combined passing percentages of English/Language Arts and Mathematics, as well as the percent of students passing both of these subjects in all grades tested. In addition to meeting these three criteria, the Four Star Schools must also meet the 95 percent student participation rate.

Email School News to neighbors@news-sentinel.com; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802.


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus