• Newsletters
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Saturday, September 23, 2017
View complete forecast
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.

Tournament field unveiled for News-Sentinel Fan Choice Player of the Year

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.The Associated Press
Monday, October 15, 2012 12:01 am
The 32-players tournament field is set for The News-Sentinel High School Football Fan Choice Area Player of the Year.The News-Sentinel Fan Choice Player of the Year recognizes the top individual performances from Fort Wayne area players during the regular season and gives fans the opportunity to decide who was the best player.

This inaugural online contest is a bracket-style, five-round tournament pairing up the area's best players against each with the winner being determined through online voting on The News-Sentinel website, news-sentinel.com.

The tournament will begin with the 16 first-round matches at 12:01 a.m. Monday (click here to vote in the first-round matches). Every round, expect for the championship match, will last one day with the polls closing at 11 p.m. (EST). The player with the most votes when the polls close will advance to the next round.

Voting for the championship match will start Friday and the polls will remain up through the weekend. The winner of the News-Sentinel Fan Choice Player of the Week will be announced in the Monday, Oct. 22 issue of The News-Sentinel.

The News-Sentinel sports staff selected and seeded the 32-player tournament field based on multiple factors include a player's performance during the regular season and how the player's team fared.

Four regions will comprise the 32-player field. Each region was named after a standout former high school football player from the Fort Wayne area: the Rod Woodson Region, the Tyler Eifert Region, the Chandler Harnish Region and the Bob Cowan Region.

Below is the tournament field and schedule.Monday: First-round matches

Tuesday: Regional semifinals

Wednesday: Regional finals

Thursday: Tournament semifinals

Friday - Sunday: Tournament championship

Monday, Oct. 22: Winner announced in issue of The News-Sentinel

*Polls close at 11 p.m. (EST) for every roundNo. 1 seed C.J. Jackson, North Side vs. No. 8 seed Tyler Hands, Carroll

No. 4 seed Brandon Mable, East Noble vs. No. 5 seed Brad Busse, Bellmont

No. 3 seed Justin Tranquill, Carroll vs. No. 6 seed Matt Skowronek, Homestated

No. 2 seed Anthony Moore, New Haven vs. No. 7 seed Josh Spitnale, SniderNo. 1 seed Jaylon Smith, Bishop Luers vs. No. 8 seed Amani Ray, Northrop

No. 4 seed Jaylin Bennett, Woodlan vs. No. 5 seed Drew Schnitz, Huntington North

No. 3 seed Conner Sheehan, Heritage vs. No. 6 seed Donovan Clark, South Side

No. 2 seed Colin Brockhouse, Northrop vs. No. 7 seed Nolan McMahon, HomesteadNo. 1 seed Nick Reese, Snider vs. No. 8 seed David Morrison, Concordia

No. 4 seed Brandon Porter, Garrett vs. No. 5 seed Frank Martin, Homestead

No. 3 seed Nic Weimer, East Noble vs. No. 6 seed Jared Murphy, Columbia City

No. 2 seed Anthony Linnear, North Side vs. No. 7 seed D'Marcus Moon, Bishop DwengerNo. 1 seed Isaac Griffith, Homestead vs. No. 8 seed Grey Fox, East Noble

No. 4 seed Jordan Hogue, New Haven vs. No. 5 seed Brenton Lockett, Heritage

No. 3 seed Je'norie Smith, Snider vs.No. 6 seed Tyvel Jemison, Bishop Luers

No. 2 seed Jason Nicodemus, Churubusco vs. No. 7 seed Weston Painter, Snider


News-Sentinel.com reserves the right to remove any content appearing on its website. Our policy will be to remove postings that constitute profanity, obscenity, libel, spam, invasion of privacy, impersonation of another, or attacks on racial, ethnic or other groups. For more information, see our user rules page.
comments powered by Disqus